Utah divorces: Check important answers here!
When fueled by emotions and hurt by your spouse’s action, you shouldn’t be taking decisions related to your divorce right away. No matter the state, it is always advisable to hire an attorney for your divorce and related matters, like child custody and support. Check for a reliable Salt Lake City divorce lawyer when you decide to file for divorce in Utah. For your help, here are answers to some of the most important questions related to state laws.
- What is an uncontested divorce?
In simple words, an uncontested divorce is where both spouses agree to end their marriage and agree on important concerns. An uncontested divorce is the easiest way to part ways without animosity. In Utah, you can file for a no-fault divorce, and if your spouse agrees to the divorce and other things related to it, you can proceed with an uncontested divorce.
- What’s the cost of getting divorced in Utah?
You are required to pay a fee when filing for divorce in Utah as the plaintiff. There are court and related costs that must be paid. There are also a few variable expenses, such as attorney’s fees. In your best interests, it is wise to talk to an attorney and create a budget, so that the divorce doesn’t become an unplanned burden.
- Does one need to go to court?
It depends. For uncontested divorces, things are usually straightforward, but the couple may still need to go a hearing. If the couple has discussed and signed a complete settlement agreement, the hearing doesn’t last long. Think of this as more of an informal hearing. Contested divorces often require couples to attend multiple formal hearings, where the judge will hear all relevant points of contention.
- What if a spouse doesn’t respond to summons?
The petitioner must serve the summons to the respondent after filing for divorce. The respondent doesn’t communicate or respond to the same within the time allotted, the petitioner can ask for a default divorce. The court will, however, try the best to get a response from the other spouse, for which more time can be granted, especially if the respondent doesn’t live in Utah.
- How much does a divorce lawyer cost?
This depends. A divorce lawyer can charge by the hour, and rates in Utah is anywhere from $100 to $500. Some attorneys work on a retainer fee. Note that state laws prevent divorce lawyers to work on a contingency fee.
Check online for top attorneys for divorce in Utah now!